Conference - Previous Details

2022 Michigan County Engineers' Workshop

CEW 2022 Presentations & Resources

Day 1

CRA of Michigan Update

Denise Donahue & Steve Puuri, PE

Panel: High Water / Erosion on County Roads

Mark Timmer - Oceana CRC; Wayne Schoonover, PE - Grand Traverse CRC; Rob Falls, PE - Sanilar CRC

HMA Testing Equipment and Methods

Kevin Glupker, PE - SME

Transportation Economic Development Fund Grants Overview

Christine Zuzga - MDOT

FHWA Mobile Asphalt Technology Center and Outreach to Local Agencies

Leslie Myers - FHWA

Talking to the Public: Translating Engineering Speak

Craig Bryson - RC for Oakland County

HMA Rejuvenators: Effective PM or Magic Elixir

Scott Assenmacher, PE - Asphalt Materials, Inc. 

Alternative Methods for Conducting Speed Studies

Tim Gates, PhD, PE - Michigan State University


Day 2

County Project Showcase: Union Pier Road

Kevin Stack, PE - Berrien County Road Department

Injection & Spray Applied Polyuerhane for Infrastructure Repair

Mike Guerin - Havener Tech, LLC & Jacob Rushlow, PE - City of Livonia

GIS Certification Mapping

Joanna Johnson & Rebekkah Ausbury - RC of Kalamazoo County

EGLE Nextcycle and Scrap Tire Programs

Kirsten Clemens, PE - EGLE

Navigating Utility Permitting (What Can Agencies Do?)

Bill Henn, JD - Henn Lesperance PLC

Expectations of Authorized Public Agencies

Lindsey Ringuette - EGLE

Tips for Navigating NEPA Efficiently 

Lane Masoud - MDOT

Work Zone Safety for County Roadways

Chris Brookes


Day 3

Concrete Pavement Rehabilitation Techniques

Wayne Harrall, PE - Kent CRC

Latest News from MDOT LAP

Tracie Leix, PE & Kelly Crannell, PE - MDOT

Michigan Local Project Administration and Roadsoft Development

Nick Koszykowski - Michigan LTAP

Utility Coordination Lessons Learned: Pushing a Rope to Build a Road

Nate Murphy, PE - Washtenaw CRC; Brian Kernstock, PE - Calhoun County Road Dept.; Fishbeck Representative

Lessons Learned from Projects that Went Wrong

Matt MacDonnell, PE - Washtenaw CRC; Ryan Minkus, PE - RC of Kalamazoo County; Kristine Parsons, PE - Calhoun County Road Dept.; Lance Malburg, PE - Dickinson CRC