COUNTY ENGINEERS' WORKSHOP

Participants Can Attend In-Person or Virtually

February 11-13, 2025 • Shanty Creek Resort Bellaire, Michigan

Registration:

To register, please visit <u>https://ctt.secure.nonprofitsoapbox.com/2025cew</u>

Early Bird Registration: \$290 per person Early Bird Registration Deadline: February 2, 2025 Registration After Deadline: \$348 per person

QUESTIONS?

Lodging:

Shanty Creek Resort - Summit Village 5780 Shanty Creek Rd, Bellaire, MI 49615

Rooms at Shanty Creek Resorts-Summit Village are available at a per-night reduced rate. For rate information & to book your room, visit

<u>https://www.shantycreek.com/reservations/mich</u> <u>igan-technological-universty/</u>

Room Block Expires: January 10, 2025

Please note that registrations after the deadline need to be made by emailing CTT@mtu.edu to check availability

Registration is required for fulfillment of continuing education. Read the Center for Technology & Training policy here.

No-shows/cancellations within three business days of the event are charged the full registration fee; substitutions accepted

Michigan Technological University is an Equal Opportunity Educational Institution/Equal Opportunity Employer that provides equal opportunity for all, including protected veterans and individuals with disabilities.

Accommodation requests related to a disability should be made at least ten business days prior to the event by emailing ctt@mtu.edu.







Michigan's Local Technical Assistance Program

AGENDA DAY 1 FEBRUARY 11

07:00 AM	Registration & Breakfast Buffet
08:00 AM	Welcome, Introduction, & Pledge of Allegiance Dirk Heckman, PE - CRA of Michigan
08:15 AM	Returning Roads Back to Gravel and Creating a Regravel Program Dylan Kennedy - Barry County Road Commission Kevin Stack, PE - Berrien County Road Department Jake Welch - Barry County Road Commission
09:00 AM	Software Showcase: Road Conductor Nick Koszykowski - Center for Technology & Training
09:45 AM	Break
10:00 AM	Road Commission Utilization of Fleet Telematics Darryl Heid, PE - Road Commission for Oakland County Rusty McClain - Road Commission of Kalamazoo County
10:45 AM	Permitting Solar and Wind Farm Installations and Permit Insurance Requirements Bill Henn - Henn Lesperance PLC
11:30 AM	Lunch
12:30 PM	Ohio County Innovation: Using Flexible Concrete Warren Schlatter, PE, PS - Defiance County, Ohio
01:15 PM	How Changing Our Local Funding Program Has Helped Us Stephanie Boileau, PE - Chippewa County Road Commission Karl Hanson, PE - Wexford County Road Commission Kristine Parsons, PE - Calhoun County Road Department
02:00 PM	Break
02:15 PM	Gravel Roads: The Dirt on Speeds Alex Rucinski, PE - Road Commission for Oakland County
03:00 PM	Working Through Drainage Issues in Our County Moderator: Joel Morgan, PE - Kent County Road Commission Mike TenBrock, PE - Kent County Road Commission Jean Vanderville - Schoolcraft County Road Commission Jake Welch - Barry County Road Commission
03:45 PM	Latest news from NACE Stephen McCall, PE - NACE Kevan Stone - NACE
04:00 PM	Recess
04:30 PM 05:30 PM	Social Hour Dinner
06:30 PM	Subcommittee Reports of the Engineering Committee Craig Atwood, PE - CRA of Michigan
07:00 PM	Awards Presentation
08:00 PM	Adjourn





Michigan's Local Technical Assistance Program





AGENDA DAY 2 FEBRUARY 12

07:00 AM	Breakfast Buffet		
08:00 AM	Welcome & Pledge	of Allegiance	
08:05 AM	Joanna Johnson - Road	ul as a Manager minee County Road Commission I Commission of Kalamazoo County (retired) County Road Commission	
09:00 AM		s: Fundamentals, Differences, and Selection chigan Department Of Transportation	
09:45 AM	Break		
10:00 AM	Kristine Parsons, PE - 0	County Bridge Projects Calhoun County Road Department nt County Road Commission	
10:45 AM	Environmental Project Impacts Jeremy Geist, PhD - Trout Unlimited Brad Knight - Road Commission for Oakland County Kelly Smith - Newaygo County Road Commission Holly Vickers - Michigan Wetland Board		
11:30 AM	Lunch		
12:30 PM	Project Showcase: Langley Covered Bridge Rehabilitation Garrett Myland, PE - St. Joseph County Road Commission		
01:15 PM	Using UV CIPP (Ultraviolet Cure in Place Pipe) Lining on County Culverts Gary Kennedy - Omega Liner Company Brad Stauffer - Arenac County Road Commission		
02:00 PM	Break		
02:15 PM	Latest News from CRA of Michigan's Engineering Specialist Steve Puuri, PE - CRA of Michgan		
03:00 PM	Bridge Analysis Technical Discussion for Permitting Chris Gilbertson, PhD, PE - Center for Technology & Training		
03:15 PM	What You Need to Know When Pursuing a Safety Grant Ryan Doyle, PE - Michigan Department Of Transportation		
04:00 PM	Recess	Tubing will be offered from 7:00 PM-9:00 PM	
04:30 PM	Social Hour	on day 2 - \$12 per person .	
05:30 PM	Dinner	Ski lift tickets will also be offered (time TBD) for \$15 per person - rentals NOT included.	
06:30 PM	Adjourn		

CE

COUNTY ENGINEERS

County Road Association OF MICHIGAN

CRA





AGENDA DAY 3 FEBRUARY 13

07:00 AM	Breakfast Buffet			
08:00 AM	Welcome & Pledge of Allegiance			
08:15 AM	HMA Additives and Other Innovations at Kent and Dickinson County Wayne Harrall, PE - Kent County Road Commission Lance Malburg, PE - Dickinson County Road Commission			
09:00 AM	Lessons Learned on Railroad and Pedestrian Tunnel Projects Jeremy Hedden, PE - Colliers Engineering & Design Peter Sanderson - Washtenaw County Parks and Recreation			
09:45 AM	Break			
10:00 AM	Latest News from MDOT Local Agency Programs Kem Hoopingarner - Michigan Department of Transportation Bruce Kadzban, PE - Michigan Department of Transportation Deena Woodward - Michigan Department of Transportation (tentative)			
11:15 AM	MDOT TEDF Category F Grant Program Lindsay Ross, Michigan Department of Transportation			
11:35 AM	Closing Announcements & Adjourn	Boxed Lunch Provided		

CEW is hosted by the Center for Technology & Training for the County Road Association Engineering Committee

CRA Engineering Committee

Craig Atwood, PE, Allegan County (Chair) Stephanie Boileau, PE, Chippewa County (Vice Chair) Mathew Hannahs, PE, Eaton County Karl Hanson, PE, Wexford County William Hazelton, PE, St. Clair County Eric Johnston, PE, Genesee County Angela Kline, PE, Jackson County Brett Laughlin, PE, Ottawa County Lance Malburg, PE, Dickinson County Kristine Parsons, PE, Calhoun County Dewayne Rogers, Clare County Ian Stampfly, PE, Schoolcraft County

Conference Planning Committee

Ian Stampfly, PE, Schoolcraft County (Chair) Mike TenBrock, PE, Kent County (Vice Chair) Michele Ford, PE, Washtenaw County Ryan Kemppainen, PE, Allegan County Lance Malburg, PE, Dickinson County Ryan Minkus, PE, Kalamazoo County Kristine Parsons, PE, Calhoun County







